Another incredible life experience!

The past few days have been exploding with possibilities, encouragement and support. One of the scariest things is that it only feels like it’s just the beginning of what’s truly possible. The more I lead with my heart the more overwhelmed I find myself by other people returning the favour.

Just yesterday I placed the “writer looking for tranquil place to write, ideas?” sign up in front of the local woolies (Australian supermarket). Within 5 minutes Gale had approached me with a smile and happily invited me to stay on their property down by the Berry Farm. She gave her details and explained in depth how to find where she lived. There wasn’t a hint of doubt in her offer, it was pure and full of love.

The sign I used for 5 minutes before meeting Gale.

The sign I used for 5 minutes before meeting Gale.

Just earlier that day I had met up with Janna, a German friend I met at the language school when I was learning Spanish in Barcelona more than 2 years ago. She was travelling Australia and had come with her 3 friends. After sharing a great afternoon together I asked if they would be able to help drive me out to Gale’s property and they happily agreed without question.

We arrived at around 6pm and I knew that Gale was only expecting me to arrive. I did not want to pressure or expect Gale to open her heart to the idea of having 4 unexpected visitors at night. We drove up the desert red gravel road and saw both Gale and John awaiting my arrival at the front door. I said hello and mentioned these were my friends who were probably going to find a camp ground close by. She replied in her friendly New Zealand accent, “well why don’t they just stay here for the night?”

I was slightly shocked and surprised that she was able to make such a change in her own plans within seconds of discovering that I had arrived with 4 unexpected visitors. They proceeded to welcome all of my friends personally and we shared a beautiful selection of homemade cheeses that Gale made from milk given as a present from the neighbouring farmer.

Delicious homemade cheeses!

Delicious homemade cheeses!

They continued to treat us with the upmost respect telling us life stories from living in Hong Kong, England and Malaysia. They allowed all of us to stay in huge double beds for the night, fed us a delicious roast pork dinner with home grown vegetables and we stayed up chatting deep into the night.

Delicious Improvised Homemade Dinner for 7!

Delicious Improvised Homemade Dinner for 7!

The morning was followed up by waffles, fresh juice, honey from their own bee hives, hand made jams and more.

Morning Waffles

Morning Waffles

Then we spent the entire day fixing up the shed at the front of their property. Moving large logs of wood, cleaning the floors, high pressure hosing the toilets, creating shade, cleaning pipes etc. All of this was done without anyone ever questioning the work being done. Everybody was happy to contribute in their own way.

Everybody working hard cleaning the shed.

Everybody working hard cleaning the shed.

Drink break during the clean.

Well deserved drink break during the clean.

After a delicious homemade lunch, Gale and John proceeded to spend more than an hour giving maps and tips on interesting places within the area for my German friends to explore. We said goodbye to our friends and John proceeded to fix a bike so I could use it whilst here on the property.

John building a fence to keep the cows out.

John building a fence to keep the cows out.

What has happened over the past couple of days has been nothing short of simply incredible! I will spend the next few days here in the farm shed editing and writing before volunteering more of my time at both the Soup Kitchen and the Community Garden early next week.

Good things happen when we lead with our hearts…what’s next?

The place i'll call home for the next week.

The place i’ll call home for the next week.

The living area

The living area

 

 

One thought on “Another incredible life experience!

  1. It fills my heart with such joy to share the world with such beautiful people. Thank you Peter for allowing us to share the overwhelming experience with you.

Leave a Reply

