What I learned living alone in the forest

Just the other day I decided I needed some time away from everything and decided to push myself through some deep and tangled Australian forest. The forest floor crunched beneath my feet like cornflakes sprinkled with a chance of snakes.

 

Once I found my place I didn’t go exploring further for another 3 days, I sat still, enjoying the space for all of its unique and intricate beauty. There were ancient 100 year old trees that had fallen which gave the concept of time a whole different persona. I followed the pace of the sun and allowed my inner self to shine.

Place of peace

Place of peace

Whilst in silence amongst the trees I started to recognise on a deeper level how vital this time to myself was and how it was a very rare occasion indeed! Having the silence allowed me to realise that too many of my own decisions were based on the influence of what other people expected of me. It put my life of constant distraction and stimulation into stark contrast with the pure un-expecting silence of the forest.

Nothing has taken me to the answers I was searching for with such precision and speed as sitting alone in the forest. I respect that this time and technique may vary from person to person but how the funk are we expected to make authentic decisions for ourselves if we don’t create silence and establish a strong connection with our inner voice first?

I guess what I’m trying to say is that surrounded in the washing machine confusion of daily life I had difficulty realising how fuzzy and unclear my internal voice really was. It was only after 3 days alone in the fresh, new and free setting of the forest without a schedule of pending appointments was able to reconnect and appreciate it’s value. We are often so busy in distraction and other peoples work that we completely squash our own inner voice and what’s really important to us.

What does your inner voice say? Can you hear it clearly? When was the last time you had 24 hours completely to yourself?

Quotes for thought
“It is not enough to be busy. So are the ants. The question is: What are we busy about?” –
Henry David Thoreau

“When we get too caught up in the busyness of the world, we lose connection with one another – and ourselves” – Jack Kornfield

“Doing nothing is better than being busy doing nothing” – Lao Tzu

6 thoughts on “What I learned living alone in the forest

  1. All you say is true and all I can say is that meditation is the way to connect with yourself in the midst of constant bombardment.

    • yeah mate, i’m very interested in getting back into dj’ing and am practically back into it. All of the live experience of liberation set’s we do are tunes curated by myself and another DJ friend Jonathon. Why do you ask?

      • Because I read on your site how (don’t quote me) that you felt it was time to let it go and I wondered if it had come back to you. I’ve walked away from it many times concluding that it creates unnecessary noise in my life and my efforts would be better focussed on nothing. It keeps coming back to me however and I’m trying to find a balance between being ignorant with it and knowing that I am not defined by it but choose to do it because it’s fun and sitting cross legged allday is not. Sorry to make it about me but I draw some parallels from you

      • I went through some similar thoughts! So i’m not surprised if you feel some parallels. Too much of my life was invested into searching for new tunes and not enough of my life was in life. That was 3 years ago and now i’ve re-calibrated to ensure that a large portion of my life is in life again, music assists the journey. Where are you at now?

Leave a Reply

